Posted by: docteachrev | December 29, 2011

Unit VII – The Kingdom Of Saul

UNIT VII

THE KINGDOM OF SAUL

Section I

INTRODUCTION

I. THE ORIGINAL STRUCTURE OF SAMUEL AND KINGS

     A. Originally There Was Only One Book Of Samuel

     B. The Septuagint Translators Divided It Into Two Books Named:

          1. I Kings

          2. II Kings

NOTE: Our present I and II Kings were III and IV Kings

II. THE PURPOSE OF I SAMUEL

     A. I Samuel Shows The Events Leading Up To The Transition From The Judges To The Kings

     B. I Samuel Shows Samuel As The Transitional Figure

          1. Founder of:  The Prophetic Office

          2. Founder of:  The Throne Of Israel

          3. Last and best of the:          Judges

         4. First of the Order of the:      Prophets

 

Section II

I SAMUEL    TWO DIVISIONS

I. SAMUEL; THE JUDGE I Samuel 1-7

II. SAUL THE KING           I Samuel 8-31

 

Section III

ELI THE JUDGE

I Samuel 1:1-4:22

I. TWO CONTRASTING FAMILIES IN ISRAEL        I Samuel 1:2-2:26

     A. The Spiritual, Lay Family Of Elkanah            I Samuel 1:1-2:21, 26

     B. The Carnal, Priestly Family Of Eli      I Samuel 2:22-25

II. GOD’S TESTIMONY AGAINST THE HOUSE OF ELI    I Samuel 2:27-3:21

     A. The Message From “A Man Of God”          I Samuel 2:27-36

     B. The Message From Young Samuel            I Samuel 3:1-21

III. ISRAEL DEFEATED BY THE PHILISTINES        I Samuel 4:1-10

     A. The Battle        I Samuel 4:1-2

     B. The Capture Of The Ark Of The Covenant I Samuel 4:3-11

IV. GOD’S JUDGMENT ON THE HOUSE OF ELI     I Samuel 4:11-22

     A. The Death Of Eli’s Sons        I Samuel 4:11

     B. The Death Of Eli         I Samuel 4:12-18

     C. The Death Of Eli’s Daughter-In-Law I Samuel 4:19-22

 

Section IV

SAMUEL THE JUDGE

I Samuel 1:1-25:1

NOTE: Conditions In Samuel’s Day

          1. The nation had failed spiritually

          2. The judges had failed for the most part

NOTE: They reacted to the problem, rather than prepare for them

          3. The priesthood had failed

          4. The army had failed

I. THE ACCOUNT OF SAMUEL’S BIRTH      2:1-20

II. SAMUEL’S MINISTRY BEFORE THE LORD        I Samuel 2:11, 26-28

III. SAMUEL RECEIVES THE WORD OF THE LORD         I Samuel 3:1-21

     A. Concerning The House Of Eli           I Samuel 3:11-18

     B. Concerning Israel        I Samuel 3:19-4:1a

IV. SAMUEL ANOINTS SAUL   I Samuel 8:1-10:27

     A. The Reasons For The Demand For A King I Samuel 8:1-9

          1. The lifestyle of Samuel’s sons      I Samuel 8:1-3

          2. The desire of Israel to be like other nations         I Samuel 8:4-5

          3. Israel’s rejection of the Lord           I Samuel 8:6-9

     B. Saul Comes To Samuel        I Samuel 9:1-27

     C. Samuel Anoints Saul I Samuel 10:1

V. GOD’S REJECTION OF SAUL         I Samuel 13:1-15; 15:11-35

     A. The Foolish Act Of Saul         I Samuel 13:1-15

     B. The Sin Of Saul          I Samuel 15:1-35

VI. GOD’S CHOICE OF DAVID TO REPLACE SAUL         I Samuel 16:1-13

VII. THE DEATH OF SAMUEL   I Samuel 25:1

VIII. THE LAST APPEARANCE OF SAMUEL          I Samuel 28:12-19

 

Section V

SAUL THE KING

I. THE CHOICE OF SAUL TO BE KING          I Samuel 8-12

     A. The Three Steps To The Throne

          1. The anointing by Samuel at Ramah         I Samuel 9:1-10:16

          2. The choosing by the Lord at Mizpeh       I Samuel 10:17-27

          3. The vote of the people at Gilgal  I Samuel 11:1-15

     B. The Final Steps To The Theocratic Kingdom

          1. The sin of the people        I Samuel 12:6-12

          2. The prophecy of the conditions in the future        I Samuel 12:13-15

          3. The confession of the people’s sin          I Samuel 12:16-19

          4. The final words of Samuel I Samuel 12:20-25

II. THE FAILURES OF SAUL

     A. The Three Sins Of Saul

          1. His impatience        I Samuel 13

          2. His deliberate sin    I Samuel 14

          3. His rebellion            I Samuel 15

     B. Saul’s Failure In Testing

          1. His foolish vows     I Samuel 14:24,39,44

               a. No refreshments for his soldiers

               b. Death to the person who broke this order

          2. The keeping of the spoil and Agag, king of the Amalekites      Chapter 15

III. THE LORD’S REJECTION OF THE THRONE OF SAUL            I Samuel 16:31

NOTE: Saul remained on the throne of Israel for l4 more years

     A. The Anointing Of David As King       I Samuel 16

     B. Characteristics Of Saul’s Reign. In His Last Days

          1. His distrust

          2. His jealousy

          3. His vindictiveness

          4. His recurrent irrationality

     C. The Departure Of The Lord’s Help

          1. The spirit of the Lord left him and an evil spirit came upon him I Samuel 16:14

          2. The death of Samuel         I Samuel 25:l

          3. No calming music from the renegade David

          4. The priests had been murdered by Saul            I Samuel 21-22

          5. The witch of Endor  I Samuel 28:7-20

IV. THE DEATH OF SAUL           I Samuel 3l

     A. The Battle Of Gilboa

     B. The Death Of Saul And His Three Sons

     C. The Comparison Of I Samuel 31 And II Samuel 1

          1. The Scriptural account        I Samuel 31:3-13

          2. The Amalekite’s account    II Samuel 1:6-10

          3. The probable explanation

               a. Saul fell on his sword and passed out

               b. The armor bearer, thinking Saul was dead, committed suicide

               c. Saul came to and asked the Amalekite to kill him



Leave a comment

Categories